Expert group report

The Fine Gael / Labour government set up a so-called expert group in 2011 to examine the judgement of the ECHR ruling and the implications of the 'X' case judgment. 

The Expert Group was chaired by Mr Justice Seán Ryan and has to report back to Government within six months with options on how to implement the judgment of the European Court.

The Composition of Expert Group on Abortion (January 2012) is as follows;

  • The Group will be chaired by Mr. Justice Seán Ryan and consist of thirteen other members;
  • Dr Peter Boylan, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist
  • Dr Mary Holohan, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist
  • Dr Imelda Ryan, Psychiatrist,
  • Dr Ailish Ni Riain, General Practitioner
  • Dr Mark Walsh, General Practitioner
  • Ms Christine O'Rourke, Office of the Attorney General
  • Ms Mary O'Toole, Senior Counsel
  • Ms Joanelle O'Cleirigh, Solicitor
  • Ms Denise Kirwin, Solicitor
  • Dr. Deirdre Madden, Medical Council
  • Dr Maura Pidgeon, An Bord Altranais
  • Dr Tony Holohan, Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health
  • Mr Bernard Carey, Assistant Secretary, Department of Health

This Expert Group on Abortion released its findings in November 2012, saying that Ireland was obliged to implement the court's decision and recommending legislative and statutory reform.

Read the Expert Group on Abortion's report here